Quiet Time With the Creator

Photo by ethanbeute

Photo by ethanbeute

Snow is falling in the Rockies today.  A subdued gray and white landscape filters through my living room window and all feels cozy and peaceful.  In the hurried flurry of everyday life, rarely do we appreciate the beauty of an overcast, gray day.  Tufts of white snow dot the arms of spruce and pine; aspens bend and sway under an icing of glimmering snow; wild creatures fluff their furry, thickened coats and seek the comfort and warmth of underground dens.  The air is cold and exhilarating, demanding layers of clothing to be wrapped around aging, crooked bodies.

It….. is beautiful.  It is calm.  It is peaceful.  It is quiet.

Looking out my window, I feel peace.  It is not a peace of my own doing but of a Creator God who put it there for me to enjoy, respect and learn from.  It was put there by my God who reminds me that peace is found in the quiet….in the recognition of who He is and what He has done for me….in the completed work of His Son, Jesus Christ.  If I fail to meditate on this; if I fail to recognize the sacrifice made on my behalf and the value of quiet time with Him, I remain weak and incomplete.

But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere.  And a harvest of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace. James 3:17-18.  When it is quiet, I can see all of these things in perspective.

My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness,” God tells me in 2 Cor. 12:9.  As an empowered, strong and intelligent human being, how often do I allow myself to feel weak?   A cold, wintry day reminds me of my frail and ever constant weakness.  It reminds me that nothing grows during this dying season except for a stronger dependence on my Maker.  It reminds me to be still and know that He is God….that He will be exalted among the nations and over the whole earth. Psalm 46:10 It reminds me that though our country is crumbling before our very eyes, there is a God who is above man and man’s flawed plans….a God who has a plan in place for everyone and everything.  It reminds me that He will be exalted…that He is above any earthly leader or power.

Wintry days are wonderful days.  They cause us to look at the heart….deep within that sinful, beating heart of ours.  Wintry days remind us not to let our adorning be external, but instead it should be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious. 1 Peter3: 3-4.

God, grant my heart the adornment of a gentle and quiet spirit.  Grant peace in the midst of the storm.  Remind me what is precious to you through the irony of a winter’s day.  Help me sow peace, that I might grow in Your righteousness and more clearly reflect…..You…my Creator.

Leave a Reply

