What We Can Learn From Our Dogs

2009-08-30 2533We recently got a new puppy – a beautiful Australian Shepherd male puppy.  He was the runt of the litter.  We named him ‘Howard.’  The name just seems to suit him somehow.

Howard is a red merle Aussie; copper and white all swirled together in a beautiful mosaic of pure puppy pleasure.  He has two big, beautiful, blue eyes that pierce right into your heart.

I’d like to share something that the breeder gave to us when we purchased Howard.  It’s entitled:  What We Can Learn From Our Dogs.

Now, if you were my mother, you would answer, “Dogs don’t teach you a thing.  They are a bother.”

I, on the other hand, would disagree.  Dogs can teach us a lot.  They can teach us how to love unconditionally and completely.  How many humans do that?  Hmm?

Dogs can protect and treasure us.  Dogs give us a way to demonstrate our love tangibly and without premeditation.  I mean, when you look at Howard’s picture, doesn’t’ your heart just melt?  I have a feeling it lowers our blood pressure, too.  Loving our dogs gives us a way to express our love and appreciation to God, who created such a warm, fuzzy puppy face to caress.

Simply said, dogs are simple.  They think simply.  Things just are.  Life simply exists.  No need to over-analyze nor presume.  I rather think we can learn a lot from our dogs if it’s only that we need to simplify our lives and enjoy the process of ‘being.’

Here’s the list she gave me:

** When a loved one comes home, always run to greet them.

** Never pass up the opportunity to go for a joyride.

** Allow the experience of fresh air and the wind in your face to be pure ecstasy.

** Practice obedience.

** Take naps.

** Stretch before rising.

** Run, romp and play daily.

** Thrive on attention and let people touch you.

** Avoid biting when a simple growl will do.

** On warm days, stop to lie on your back on the grass.

** On hot days, drink lots of water and lie under a shady tree.

** When you’re happy, dance around and wag your entire body.

** No matter how often you’re scolded, don’t buy into the guilt thing and pout.  Run right back and make friends.

** Delight in the simple joy of a long walk.

** Eat with gusto and enthusiasm.

** Stop when you have had enough.

** Be loyal.

** Never pretend to be something you’re not.

** When someone is having a bad day, be silent, sit close by and nuzzle them gently.

2009-09-07 2632Our wonderful Charlie loves his new buddy.  They play together and sleep together.  Charlie has taught him all the ropes in no time at all. In fact, Howard could very well have been named Mini-Me because he looks like Charlie’s miniature clone.

I am so thankful for Howard’s wonderful and careful breeder.  They made it simple for us to love and choose Howard.  The ropes we had to jump over were low to the ground and balanced.  I am thankful to their sensibility and carefulness.   In the past, we’ve tried to find a puppy to bring into our home (which is an excellent dog home, I might add), but were turned back by the plethora of hurdles we had to scale and the judgment calls about our character we had to survive in order to bring their pup into our loving home.

I certainly want a breeder to be careful where their place their puppies.  No doubt about that.  But I’ve seen some excesses this past year.  Howard’s breeder used common sense and her puppies received wonderful homes.  I know many people choose rescue dogs for their homes for this very reason — the frustration of dealing with unreasonable breeders —  but we couldn’t adopt a rescue dog due to the nature of my business.  I have children in my home constantly and must have a dog I can completely trust in that environment.

When I think about all of the dogs that need rescuing – rescuing from bad owners and bad breeders – my heart sinks.  Sometimes, not always, the damage is beyond repair for some of these precious dogs. They certainly haven’t deserved that kind of treatment.  I am thankful to those who have the ability to rescue them from their misery.

Dogs love so completely that they give their entire heart to you at a moment’s notice.  It’s only fair that we return the favor, don’t you think?2009-09-07 2646

Howard and Charlie

Howard and Charlie

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by patti buttitta on October 21, 2009 at 8:34 PM

    HI, YOUR PUPPY IS ADORABLE, I TO HAVE A SHIT SHU, NAMED SANTINI, HE IS MY BABY, I WANT TO GET ANOTHER ONE, BUT MY DAUGHTER WOULD HAVE A FIT. HOWARD IS ASO CUTE, I LOVE PUPPIES, ALL OF THEM. I WROT BONNIE TO AND SAID WHEN IS SHE GOINGTO GET A FRIEND FOR CHARLIE, HE’S LONELY. I HAVEN’T SEEN CHARLIE LATELY ON THE SHOW, BUT I HAVE BEEN IN AND OUT OF THE HOUSE.

    TAKE CARE.

  2. Posted by fromthebalcony on October 21, 2009 at 8:38 PM

    Patricia – I bet Santini is wonderful. He is lucky to have you 🙂

  3. Wonderful post, I agree! A dog’s loyalty is immeasurable. Beautiful dogs!

  4. Thank you – he is now 8 months and a wonderful pup!

  5. Posted by amy on March 25, 2010 at 12:51 PM

    Oh, he is so cute!

Leave a Reply

