Titles

We attended a grand event this past weekend:  the opening of our son-in-law’s new brewery, Grimm Brothers Brewhouse.  I was thrilled as I watched all of his hard work pay off.  It’s not just his brewery.  He has a partner and both of them have wives, one of them being my wonderful daughter, Amelia.  Entrepreneurship – the heartbeat of America.  It’s what makes this nation tick.  It’s the backbone of strength which must be revived again if this nation is to remain strong.

During the course of the evening I engaged in a conversation about education, a topic of great concern to me.  It caused me to reflect over the course of my life and my pursuit of attaining a ‘title.’

After high school, I attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  I was proud of this accomplishment because UNC-CH is a very difficult school in which to be accepted.  I began my course of study which would lead to a Physical Therapy degree.  Later I changed my major to a Nursing degree so I wouldn’t have to take yet one more course in physics.  🙂  I was accepted into both the P.T. and Nursing programs, which in itself was very difficult to achieve.

Life got in the way and I was not able to finish this degree.  I do regret that I did not finish my degree but I see that the course my life took after that decision was absolutely the right one.   I became a mother instead.

I later realized that nursing wasn’t really my ‘first love.’  I had chosen that field because of my disabled mother.  She wanted me to work in the medical field because it was her love.

After my children were grown, I decided to once again pursue my unfinished degree, only this time I would major in something I loved — journalism.  I love to write.  It must be part of that artistic brain of mine.

I was enrolled and accepted into the local university.  Most of my credits transferred and I began the process of achieving a ‘title.’  A couple of years into the program, with just a short time left to achieve my title, I began to take a long look at the end result of this acquisition.  I discovered that most of my journalism professors were liberal; more than liberal, in fact.  I began to see the bias in education.  Even courses, such as the Chicano Studies class I participated in, was politically slanted in a way which disagrees with my perspective.  It wasn’t enough just to learn the history of the Chicano movement.  In addition to a biased learning environment, we were forced to attend events I would not normally attend.  We were coerced to believe that La Raza s a good thing.  (not….)

I began to see that if I were to enter the journalism field, I would be faced with this kind of environment in which to work. Suddenly, the acquisition of a ‘title’ didn’t seem important anymore.  Even though I was constantly at the top of my class, I finally understood that a title means nothing if your integrity is compromised.

I consider myself to be a lifelong learner.  The fact that I did not gain an official earthly title is irrelevant.  Leaving the university did not stop my quest to study nor my passion to learn.  In fact, it gave me more time to do so.  Sometimes you can excel at something yet must make the hard choice to deny yourself involvement in that skill.

The irony is that I do have a title.  An earthly title with a heavenly compass.  My passion to study reformed theology has once more reminded me that my identity is not with a B.A., M.A. or any other earthly title.  My identity is in Christ.  I need no other identification.

The only title I need stamped on my forehead for all to see is “forgiven.”  I am forgiven and washed clean by the blood of Christ.  There is nothing that gives greater joy than knowing your Creator.  I imagine that God feels the same way that Paul did:

I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.  3 John 1:4

Leave a Reply

