Banana Chocolate Chip Bread (Gluten-Free)

Yesterday, I cheated and ate a little wheat at our ladies bible study.  Then I woke up today and my face was beet red.  Many of us may not be celiac, but wheat does a number on our internal inflammation. Perhaps I have learned my lesson this time.

So – I got out my thinking cap and decided to be creative.  I tweaked a recipe I found in a gluten-free cookbook to make it more nutritious.  Part of my disdain with gluten-free cooking is that so many of the recipes are so starchy.  I am determined to make this a healthy lifestyle.

Voila!  I came up with this wonderful gluten free version of banana bread that is not only tasty but is actually on the nutritious side!  I promise, it’s yummy!  Remember that nut flours have a higher calorie content, but so good for you!  (On a side note, it’s always good to keep nut flours refrigerated so that they do not go rancid.)

BANANA CHOCOLATE CHIP BREAD  (gluten-free)

1.5 cups almond meal

3/4 cup teff flour (it’s high protein)

3/4 cup sorghum flour

1/2 cup arrowroot powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. xanthum gum powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/3 cup agave nectar

1/2 cup melted butter

3 eggs

2 T. lemon juice (optional)

1-2 tsp. vanilla

3 large bananas, mashed

as many dark chocolate chips as you desire!

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease 9 x 9 pan.  Mix dry ingredients together and set aside.  Mix wet ingredients together with beater.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix with spoon until just blended.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Place batter in pan (pan will be full).  Cook for 40-50 minutes until middle is set.  The crust will look dark so don’t be deceived.  Touch the middle to see it if it set before removing from oven.  It’s so yummy when warm.  ~~~Take a taste and then cool~~~~.

I promise – you will never miss wheat with this recipe!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by amelia on October 17, 2010 at 2:48 PM

    booga booga! I’m going to try this!

Leave a Reply

